EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

December 19, 2023

Media contact:
LaQuisha Parks
Vice President of Energy Services and Corporate Communications


STATESVILLE, N.C. – The deadline for high school students to apply for an all-expenses-paid youth leadership trip to Washington, D.C. is quickly approaching. All qualifying sophomores and juniors who are interested in applying for the 2024 Electric Cooperative Youth Tour should submit their applications online by December 31.

EnergyUnited will be selecting two students for this unique youth leadership opportunity in 2024. Students who are selected will join hundreds of high school students from across the U.S. to learn about electric cooperatives, American history and the United States government. Students will also visit Capitol Hill and will have the opportunity to meet with members of the North Carolina congressional delegation.

Applicants must currently be enrolled in their sophomore or junior year and either receive service from EnergyUnited at home or attend a school that is served by EnergyUnited. All high school sophomores and juniors attending the following schools, which are served by EnergyUnited, are automatically eligible to apply: Central Davidson Sr. High, South Davidson High, Ledford High, Davidson Early College, Davie County High, Davie County Early College, North Iredell High, West Iredell High, or Hopewell High.

To learn more about the program or to apply, please visit

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 140,137 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about EnergyUnited and the cooperative’s community outreach programs, visit


EnergyUnited’s 2023 Youth Tour Delegates (Left to Right): Sean Lane of Davie County High School and Christopher Corona-Plancarte of North Iredell High School.

back to top button