EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

June 09, 2023

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager


STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited is pleased to announce its 2023 Empowering the Future scholarship winners: Elleigh Williams of North Iredell High and Yajat Govardhan of Crossroads Arts & Science Early College. Both students will receive $5,000 college scholarships from EnergyUnited.

Williams will be attending NC State University in the fall to study biology. She was valedictorian of her class at North Iredell High, a National Honor Society and Beta Club member, and also a finalist for NC State’s Park Scholarship. In addition to her academic achievements, Williams also is very passionate about community service, having previously served as a volunteer for Special Olympics.

Govardhan will be attending the University of Detroit Mercy this fall as he plans to attend the School of Dentistry. His goal is to become a dentist and to one day open a community dental clinic to offer dental services for low-income individuals and families.

“EnergyUnited is proud to award scholarships to these two outstanding students,” said Maureen Moore, corporate communications manager for EnergyUnited. “As a not-for-profit electric cooperative, EnergyUnited is committed to improving the quality of life for members and communities across the cooperative’s 19-county service area. This program represents just one community resource that is provided in support of our vision of a brighter energy future.”

EnergyUnited will begin accepting scholarship applications again next year on January 1, 2024. All seniors who live in a residence or attend a high school served by EnergyUnited are eligible to apply each year.

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 138,970 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more about your local electric cooperative.

back to top button