EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

December 05, 2022

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager

EnergyUnited awards $46,000 to 43 NC teachers for creative classroom projects

STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited has awarded more than $46,000 to 43 North Carolina teachers through the NC Bright Ideas education grant program. Teachers in Alexander, Catawba, Davie, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Rockingham, Stokes and Wilkes counties are receiving grants ranging from $200 up to $2,000 to support creative classroom projects.

“Education is the driving economic force that lifts individuals, families and communities above our greatest challenges,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited. “Our Bright Ideas education grant program represents an important piece of the cooperative’s vision of a brighter energy future that is shaped by innovation and education.”

Since the Bright Ideas grant program began in 1994, EnergyUnited has contributed nearly $1 million to local teachers. EnergyUnited is one of 26 member-owned electric cooperatives in the state offering Bright Ideas grants to local educators. During the month of November, North Carolina’s electric cooperatives have awarded more than $600,000 in Bright Ideas education grants.

Since 1994, North Carolina’s electric cooperatives collectively have awarded more than $14.3 million to North Carolina teachers. The Bright Ideas program has reached well over 2.8 million North Carolina students and sponsored more than 13,500 projects in all subjects including math, reading, science and technology, history, music and the arts.

Bright Ideas grant applications are collected each year from April through mid-September, and winning proposals are selected in a competitive evaluation process by a panel of judges. The application process will reopen for interested teachers in April 2023.  To find out more information about the Bright Ideas grant program, visit

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more.

2022 Bright Ideas Grant Winners


Applicant Name

Appproved Funding

Alexander Central High Samantha Strathy $1,069.90
Stoner-Thomas School Sara Nussman $1,898.00
Woodland Heights Middle School Beth Garver $1,600.00
Langtree Charter Academy Molly E. Maginnis $1,160.00
North Rowan Elementary Ashley Miller $1,500.00
Brawley Middle Alicia Driver $795.94
West Alexander Middle Ashley Huss $1,312.15
Oak Grove High School Sarah Bridges $1,000.00
Davidson Elementary Denise DiTondo $1,000.00
Southwood Elementary Andria Roberson $1,000.00
The NC Leadership Academy Gina Tucker $800.00
Guilford Elementary Thomas Gray $790.00
Ward Elementary Mary Tesh $229.13
Pinebrook Elementary McKenzie Dotson $600.00
East Alexander Middle Taylor Gallyon $2,000.00
Mineral Springs Elementary Bonnie M. Alexander $1,000.00
Oak Grove High School John Spillman $1,400.00
Blythe Elementary Marlyn Childers $1,249.00
Reagan High Shannon Pylant $1,205.00
Hanes Middle Desirae Balsamo $760.00
Reynolds High Nicole Eskridge $300.00
Thomasville Primary Toni Tricarico $1,179.98
West Davidson High Cheyenne Swing $999.90
Speas Elementary Michael Lauricella $1,495.00
Central Davie Academy Danny Lough $500.00
Crossroads Arts & Science Tracy Skeens $638.00
Midway Elementary Nina Allen $367.92
North Rowan Elementary Christy Trapp $1,500.00
Taylorsville Elementary Michelle $1,194.11
The NC Leadership Academy Kelly M Hartzell $1,259.00
Douglass Elementary Samantha Crews $820.00
Walnut Cove Elementary Genna Holt $1,000.00
Mineral Springs Middle April Hurlocker $1,000.00
Liberty Prep. Christian Academy CariAnn Kingston $1,000.00
Lake Norman Charter – Middle Margaret Bond $1,000.00
Bandys High Ryan Cosson $2,000.00
Moravian Falls Elementary Paula Farmer $1,296.00
Cook Elementary Madelyn Hughes $230.00
Caleb’s Creek Elementary Natalie Byerly $2,000.00
Barringer Academic Center Evelyn King Metcalf $1,219.90
Alexander Central High Justin Deal $1,500.00
Lakeshore Middle Thomas Landon Hill $500.00
North Iredell High Adrian Bustle $820.00


back to top button