EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

May 03, 2024

Media contact:
Marilyn Lineberger
Corporate Communications Manager


STATESVILLE, N.C. – Two local students have earned Touchstone Energy Sports Camp Scholarships from EnergyUnited to attend summer basketball camps at two of the state’s most prestigious college campuses.

Ella Taylor of Tyro Middle School will attend the Wolfpack Women’s Basketball Camp at N.C. State University, and Jackson Ward of North Iredell Middle School will attend the Carolina Basketball School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, both on full scholarships from EnergyUnited.

“We are pleased to announce Ella and Jackson as our 2024 Sports Camp Scholarship winners,” said Marilyn Lineberger, corporate communications manager for EnergyUnited. “This program reflects our cooperative’s ongoing investment in students and communities across our service footprint.”

Ella and Jackson were selected by a panel of judges based on interviews and their applications, which included academic achievements, extracurricular activities and written essays.

During the overnight camps, students will stay in dorms on campus and soak up lessons on the hardwood from collegiate coaches and current and former student-athletes. Coaches and players at both overnight camps will work closely with each camper to develop fundamental skills that will help them excel on and off the court.

Leading the N.C. State women’s camp is head coach Wes Moore, his coaching staff, and current and former N.C. State women’s basketball players. The UNC camp is led by head coach and former Tar Heel player, Hubert Davis, his staff, and current and past Tar Heel basketball players.

More than 50 students from across the state will attend basketball camp on a Touchstone Energy Sports Camp Scholarship from electric cooperatives in North Carolina this year. Now in its 21st year, the scholarship program demonstrates the electric cooperatives’ commitment to building a brighter future through continued support for education and community programs.

About EnergyUnited EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 140,137 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit to learn more about the cooperative’s energy services and community programs.


Congratulations to Ella Taylor (left) and Jackson Ward (right) who have been selected by EnergyUnited to attend the Wolfpack Women’s Basketball Camp at NC State University and the Carolina Basketball Camp at UNC-Chapel Hill this summer as part of the Touchstone Energy Sports Camp Scholarship program.

back to top button