EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

March 21, 2023

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager


STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited Director Cheryl Wright has been appointed to a two-year term on the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s (NRECA) Director Advisory Group (DAG). The DAG, which consists of 15 directors from each of NRECA’s ten regions, is a volunteer advisory group that provides critical feedback to the association on its director-focused education programs, conferences, communications and resources.

“EnergyUnited is committed to supporting and strengthening educational programs that provide critical insight for cooperative leaders,” said Thomas Golden, chief executive officer of EnergyUnited. “Cheryl’s leadership skills, industry knowledge and director program experiences have informed a unique perspective that will benefit electric cooperatives and the communities they serve nationwide.”

The DAG also serves as a forum for soliciting input from its members regarding cooperative and community concerns as well as directors’ perspectives on how NRECA can assist their cooperatives in addressing those concerns. The first director advisory group meeting was convened by NRECA in July 2015. The DAG meets four times per year – three times virtually and once in-person at NRECA’s Directors Conference held in the first quarter of each year.

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit to learn more about the cooperative’s energy services and community programs.


EnergyUnited Director Cheryl Wright (District 3) was recently appointed to serve on the National Rural Cooperative Association’s (NRECA) Director Advisory Group (DAG).

back to top button