EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

October 20, 2022

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager


STATESVILLE, N.C. – The EnergyUnited Foundation recently donated $10,000 to Cooperative Community Ministry of Thomasville to provide emergency funding for individuals and families facing financial hardship.

Cooperative Community Ministry (CCM) has been serving Thomasville and Davidson County by meeting the community’s legitimate, urgent needs. CCM provides support for clients who are facing food insecurity and struggling to make ends meet financially.

“We are able to meet the needs of our community by focusing on three main programs,” said Beth Atkins, executive director of CCM. “In addition to our food pantry, we also serve hot meals 2-3 days per week and offer financial assistance for rent and utility payments.”

“The EnergyUnited Foundation is thankful for the support that CCM provides to individuals and families in Davidson County,” said Debra Citta, administrator of the EnergyUnited Foundation. “We are proud to support their efforts to serve the community amid concerns about rising inflation.”

The EnergyUnited Foundation is a voluntary, member-funded non-profit organization supported by EnergyUnited’s Operation Round-Up program. Nearly 90,000 EnergyUnited members choose to participate in the program by ‘rounding up’ their electric bills each month. The maximum monthly contribution for an individual member with one account is 99 cents. Each of these small contributions are pooled together in a single fund managed by the EnergyUnited Foundation to support needy individuals, families, and essential nonprofit organizations that complete an application explaining the reason and purpose for their requested grant.

About Energy
United EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit to learn more about the cooperative’s energy services and community programs.

From left to right: Rev. Cassie Overcash, chair of Cooperative Community Ministry Board of Directors; Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited; Beth Atkins, executive director of Cooperative Community Ministry; Debra Citta, administrator of the EnergyUnited Foundation and Payton Williams, director of development for Cooperative Community Ministry.

back to top button