EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

July 10, 2023

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager


STATESVILLE, N.C. –EnergyUnited recently donated $1,600 to the Iredell Health Foundation and $8,400 to the EnergyUnited Foundation. The donations were made possible thanks to a grant from CoBank, a cooperative bank that provides essential financial services to electric cooperatives like EnergyUnited.

“We are proud to show our support for communities across our 19-county service area with these donations to the Iredell Health Foundation and the EnergyUnited Foundation,” said Maureen Moore, corporate communications manager for EnergyUnited. “Both organizations offer essential support to address critical community needs, a fundamental concern for cooperatives like EnergyUnited.”

“We are delighted to join EnergyUnited in this contribution and grateful for the opportunity to fulfill our mission of service to rural America,” said Gabriel Labastida, vice president, CoBank. “We appreciate the generosity of EnergyUnited and its commitment to the communities it serves. Sharing Success taps into the local knowledge of our members to identify organizations that are truly making a difference in rural America.”

Since Sharing Success was established in 2012, CoBank and its customers have together contributed tens of millions of dollars to groups such as volunteer fire departments, local schools and hunger relief programs. Sharing Success applications are accepted beginning April 1 each year. Applications are considered on a first-come-first-served basis. Applications will be accepted through September 30 or the point at which the fund is exhausted, whichever comes first.

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 138,970 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina, which includes: Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin.

About CoBank
CoBank is a $190 billion cooperative bank serving vital industries across rural America. The bank provides loans, leases, export financing and other financial services to agribusinesses and rural power, water and communications providers in all 50 states. The bank also provides wholesale loans and other financial services to affiliated Farm Credit associations serving more than 75,000 farmers, ranchers and other rural borrowers in 23 states around the country.

CoBank is a member of the Farm Credit System, a nationwide network of banks and retail lending associations chartered to support the borrowing needs of U.S. agriculture, rural infrastructure and rural communities. Headquartered outside Denver, Colorado, CoBank serves customers from regional banking centers across the U.S. and also maintains an international representative office in Singapore.

For more information about CoBank, visit the bank’s website at

Kerry Lawing, EnergyUnited Foundation Board President (left) and Jennifer Balog, executive director of Iredell Health Foundation recently accepted grants from EnergyUnited as part of CoBank’s Sharing Success program.

back to top button