EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

April 08, 2022

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager

Grants Available for Teachers with ‘Bright Ideas’ through EnergyUnited


Statesville, N.C.Starting April 1, teachers can apply for Bright Ideas education grants from EnergyUnited. The electric cooperative is providing grants of up to $2,000 to bring creative learning projects to life and enhance education for local students. Teachers can apply online at

“The NC Bright Ideas program has positively impacted millions of lives since the program began in 1994,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited. “EnergyUnited is proud to support innovation in the classroom, which helps strengthen the communities that we serve.”

EnergyUnited expects to award more than $40,000 in Bright Ideas grants to local teachers in the 2022-2023 school year. Funding is available for K-12 classroom projects in all curriculum areas including art, history, math, reading, science and technology. Educators can apply as individuals or as a team and must include a budget, project goals, implementation plan and description of how the project will engage students and enhance their success.

The Bright Ideas education grant program is a shared initiative of all 26 electric co-ops in North Carolina. Collectively, EnergyUnited and North Carolina’s electric cooperatives have issued more than $14.3 million supporting 13,536 projects benefiting well over 2.8 million students statewide.

The final deadline to apply is Sept. 15. Interested applicants are encouraged to visit to find details on submission requirements. For more information about the program and grant-writing tips, please visit

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about the EnergyUnited Foundation, please visit

back to top button