EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

March 01, 2022

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager



STATESVILLE, N.C. – The EnergyUnited Foundation recently donated $5,000 to SWIRL Ministries of Lexington to provide support for the expansion of the organization’s food pantry. The grant will enable the organization to purchase more pantry items in response to growing demand within the community.

“We are thankful to receive this donation from the EnergyUnited Foundation,” said Cecy Morcom, co-director of SWIRL Ministries. “This grant will enable our organization to expand our efforts to reduce food insecurity by providing additional space to store pantry items.”

The grant from the EnergyUnited Foundation represents a demonstration of its continuing commitment to providing essential support for communities within the cooperative’s 19-county service area.

“EnergyUnited is committed to supporting the communities that we serve,” said Debra Citta, administrator of the EnergyUnited Foundation. “We are proud to award this grant to such an outstanding organization that offers critical support for families in Davidson County.”

The EnergyUnited Foundation is a voluntary, member-funded nonprofit organization supported by EnergyUnited’s Operation Round-Up program. Nearly 90,000 EnergyUnited members choose to participate in the program by ‘rounding up’ their electric bills each month. The maximum monthly contribution for an individual member with one account is 99 cents. Each of these small contributions are pooled together in a single fund managed by the EnergyUnited Foundation to support needy individuals, families, and essential nonprofit organizations that complete an application explaining the reason and purpose for their requested grant. 

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about the EnergyUnited Foundation, please visit


The EnergyUnited Foundation awarded a $5,000 donation on Friday, February 25 to volunteers from SWIRL Ministries to help the organization expand its pantry space.

back to top button