EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

May 17, 2022

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager



STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited is pleased to announce its 2022 Empowering the Future scholarship winners: Sonya Eason of Huntersville and Sydney Loflin of Denton.  Both students will receive $5,000 college scholarships from EnergyUnited to cover qualifying educational expenses.

Eason is a senior at Hopewell High School. She will be attending Duke University in the fall, exploring interests in both engineering and global health. Eason is part of her high school’s Beta Club, Mu Alpha Theta, and National Technical Honor Society. Outside of school, she serves as a Blood Donor Ambassador for the American Red Cross and a regular volunteer for Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation.

Loflin, a senior at HOPE Academy, plans to attend North Carolina State University this fall to study Agriculture Education. Loflin hopes to pursue a career in the classroom or in a non-traditional education setting. She is passionate about the environment and sustainability. She enjoys baking, taxidermy and is also a seamstress, notably sewing her own prom dress using plastic Walmart bags.

“EnergyUnited is proud to ‘empower the future’ by investing in education and by supporting community-focused programs,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited. “Sydney and Sonya have both demonstrated academic excellence and a sincere commitment to volunteer community service, two heavily weighted factors that are prioritized by our scholarship selection committee.”

This year, EnergyUnited celebrated the 5-year anniversary of its Empowering the Future scholarship program.  All seniors who live in a residence or attend a high school served by EnergyUnited are eligible to apply each year. EnergyUnited will begin accepting applications next year on January 1, 2023.

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more about your local electric cooperative.



2022 Empowering the Future Scholarship Winners: Sonya Eason of Huntersville (left) and Sydney Loflin of Denton (right).

back to top button