EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

January 03, 2024

Media contact:
LaQuisha Parks
Vice President of Energy Services and Corporate Communications


STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited, your local, not-for-profit electric cooperative, is now accepting applications for its college scholarship program, Empowering the Future. The cooperative will award two $5,000 college scholarships this year. 

“We are thrilled to announce the start of our 2024 Empowering the Future Scholarship program,” said Debra Citta, program coordinator for EnergyUnited. “This program reflects our commitment to the community and our efforts to foster educational opportunities that positively impact those who live and work across our 19-county service area.” 

Previous scholarship winners have since graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, Duke University and many other prestigious universities. As EnergyUnited reviews applications during the 2024 scholarship season, the cooperative will be searching for candidates who have demonstrated academic excellence and a distinguished record of community service.  

Applicants should be planning to attend an accredited college, university or a technical school during the 2024-2025 academic year.  Applications and supplemental documents, which include responses to two essay questions, must be received by no later than March 31, 2024.  Eligible students must either live in a residence that is served by EnergyUnited OR attend a school that is served by EnergyUnited. To learn more or apply, please visit 

About EnergyUnited    
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 140,137 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about the cooperative’s community outreach programs, visit 


A person and person smiling

Description automatically generated 

Yajat Govardhan (left) and Elleigh Williams (right) were selected as EnergyUnited’s 2023 Empowering the Future Scholarship winners. Yajat is now a freshman at the University of Detroit Mercy and Elleigh attends North Carolina State University.
back to top button