EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

September 09, 2021

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager

Deadline Approaching for Local Teachers to Apply for Bright Ideas Grants from EnergyUnited

Final Deadline for Applications is September 15, 2021


Statesville, N.C. – The deadline is quickly approaching for local K-12 teachers to apply for grants of up to $2,000 from EnergyUnited through the Bright Ideas Education Grant Program. Educators with innovative ideas for integrated classroom projects must submit their application by September 15. Interested teachers can find the application, along with grant-writing tips and program information, on the Bright Ideas website at

“EnergyUnited is committed to the advancement of community support initiatives,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited. “We are happy that we are able to provide Bright Ideas grants to so many educators in our local communities.”

This year, EnergyUnited will award more than $40,000 to local educators for projects across all grade levels and subjects. Teachers at qualifying schools throughout the cooperative’s 19-county service area can apply for grants individually or as a team.

EnergyUnited is one of 26 electric cooperatives in North Carolina offering Bright Ideas grants to local teachers. Since 1994, North Carolina’s electric cooperatives have awarded more than $13.7 million in Bright Ideas funding for nearly 13,000 projects supporting teachers and benefitting more than 2.7 million students.

The Bright Ideas grant program is part of EnergyUnited’s ongoing commitment to community and education. To learn more about this and other community outreach efforts, visit

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 130,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more.

back to top button