EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

November 23, 2020

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager



STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited is accepting applications through December 31 for the 2021 Electric Cooperative Youth Tour program. This year, EnergyUnited will be selecting two outstanding students for the all-expenses-paid, nationwide leadership program in Washington, D.C. The week-long leadership experience is scheduled for June 20-26, 2021. Students who attend the Youth Tour will join 1,500 high school students from across the U.S. to learn about electric cooperatives, American history and the United States government. Students will also visit the historic sites of the nation’s capital and meet with their congressional leaders.

Applicants must currently be enrolled in their sophomore year (rising juniors) or junior year (rising seniors) and either receive service from EnergyUnited at home or attend a school that is served by EnergyUnited. All high school sophomores and juniors attending the following schools which are served by EnergyUnited are automatically eligible to apply: Central Davidson Sr. High, South Davidson High, Ledford High, Davidson Early College, Davie County High, Davie County Early College, North Iredell High, West Iredell High, Hopewell High or William Amos Hough High.

For more information on eligibility or to apply, please visit . Applications and essays must be completed and sent to EnergyUnited no later than: Thursday, December 31, 2020. Contact Adam Martin, Communications Specialist at 704-924-2139 or for more information.

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 130,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. To learn more about EnergyUnited and the cooperative’s community outreach programs, visit

back to top button