EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

November 18, 2020

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager



STATESVILLE, N.C. –EnergyUnited is pleased to announce its recent $10,000 grant to The United Way of Iredell County in recognition of their continued commitment to community service.  The donation was made possible thanks to corporate and employee contributions, as well as a special matching grant from CoBank, a cooperative bank that provides essential financial services to electric cooperatives like EnergyUnited.  CoBank’s matching grant was part of the organization’s Sharing Success grant program.

“We are grateful to our partners at EnergyUnited for the many positive contributions they make for our community and their considerable support for our work at United Way,” said Brett Eckerman, executive director of United Way of Iredell County. “We have a special focus this fall on helping children thrive through this difficult time.  This donation will make a positive difference in the lives of many young people and their families.”

Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited, expressed appreciation for their strong partnership with CoBank. She explained that industry and community partners are often important contributors in the cooperative’s community service efforts.

“We are so proud to partner with CoBank to award this grant to The United Way of Iredell County, an organization that supports so many essential community services,” Moore explained. “These partnerships are so valuable to EnergyUnited members and help underscore the cooperative difference.”


About United Way of Iredell County

United Way of Iredell County fights for the health, education and financial stability of every single person in Iredell County.  We mobilize resources, drive community collaboration and solve problems.  To learn more, or to join us in this fight, please visit our website or call us at 704-872-3000.


About EnergyUnited  

EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 130,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina, which includes: Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin.


About CoBank

CoBank is a $138 billion cooperative bank serving vital industries across rural America. The bank provides commercial loans, leases, export financing and other financial services to agribusinesses and rural power, water and communications providers in all 50 states. The bank also provides wholesale loans and other financial services to affiliated Farm Credit associations serving more than 70,000 farmers, ranchers and other rural borrowers in 23 states around the country.

CoBank is a member of the Farm Credit System, a nationwide network of banks and retail lending associations chartered to support the borrowing needs of U.S. agriculture, rural infrastructure and rural communities. Headquartered outside Denver, Colorado, CoBank serves customers from regional banking centers across the U.S. and also maintains an international representative office in Singapore.

For more information about CoBank, visit the bank’s website at


Left to Right (Top Row): Maureen Moore, Communications Manager, EnergyUnited; Brett Eckerman, Executive Director, United Way of Iredell County; (Bottom Row) Sara Lewis, Director of Community Engagement and Foundation Relations, United Way of Iredell County; Thomas Golden, Chief Operating Officer, EnergyUnited.


Brett Eckerman, United Way of Iredell County Executive Director, accepts the check from The EnergyUnited Foundation.


back to top button