EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

May 06, 2020

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager

EnergyUnited Awards $10,000 Through College Scholarship Program

EnergyUnited is pleased to announce its 2020 Empowering the Future scholarship winners: Sophia Leeman of Mecklenburg County and Madison Mascorro of Forsyth County.  Both students will receive $5,000 college scholarships from EnergyUnited which will be used to cover qualifying educational expenses.

“We are honored to award these scholarships to two outstanding young students,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager.  “Sophia and Madison both demonstrated the values that are important to our selection committee, such as integrity, commitment to community and the pursuit of excellence.”

Leeman, a senior at William A. Hough High School, plans to attend Duke University this fall to study biomedical engineering. She is a member of the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Tri-M Honor Society, Hispanic Honor Society and the Science National Honor Society.

Mascorro, a senior at the Early College of Forsyth, plans to attend Appalachian State University this fall to study Hospitality and Tourism Management. She is a Crosby Scholar and a member of the National Honor Society.

2020 marked the third year in which EnergyUnited offered two $5,000 Empowering the Future scholarships.  The cooperative received nearly 100 applications from students throughout its 19-county service area. All seniors who live in a residence or attend a high school served by EnergyUnited are eligible to apply each year. EnergyUnited will begin accepting 2021 Empowering the Future scholarship applications on January 1, 2021.

2020 scholarship winners leeman mascorro

Madison Mascorro (left) & Sophia Leeman (right)

back to top button