EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu
For Immediate Release:

November 01, 2021

Media contact:
Maureen Moore
Communications Manager

EnergyUnited Awards $45,000 to Nearly 50 NC Teachers to Support Creative Classroom Projects


STATESVILLE, N.C. – EnergyUnited has awarded nearly $45,000 to 46 North Carolina teachers through the NC Bright Ideas education grant program. Teachers in Alexander, Cabarrus, Catawba, Davie, Davidson, Forsyth, Iredell, Mecklenburg and Stokes counties, will now be able to effectively implement innovative classroom projects that will impact thousands of students.

“EnergyUnited is committed to delivering a brighter future for our communities,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager for EnergyUnited. “The NC Bright Ideas program is just one resource that we leverage to support this vision.”

Since the Bright Ideas grant program began in 1994, EnergyUnited has contributed nearly $950,000 to local teachers.

EnergyUnited is one of 26 member-owned electric cooperatives in the state offering Bright Ideas grants to local educators. During the month of November, North Carolina’s electric cooperatives will award teachers statewide close to $600,000 in Bright Ideas education grants.

Since 1994, North Carolina’s electric cooperatives collectively have awarded more than $13.6 million to North Carolina teachers. The Bright Ideas program has reached well over 2.7 million North Carolina students and sponsored nearly 13,000 projects in all subjects including math, reading, science and technology, history, music and the arts.

Bright Ideas grant applications are collected each year from April through mid-September, and winning proposals are selected in a competitive evaluation process by a panel of judges. The application process will reopen for interested teachers in April 2021.  To find out more information about the Bright Ideas grant program, visit

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving more than 131,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more.

2021 NC Bright Ideas Winners


Applicant Name Grant Amount
Ashley Elementary Elizabeth Potts $480.12
Ashley Park Elementary Rachael Farah $501.20
Bandys High Angela Raby $1,400.00
Brawley Middle Dana Gillis $1,000.00
Carver High Christopher Jeffords $1,399.70
Celeste Henkel Elementary Laura Caldwell $1,057.90
Central Davie Academy Daniel Lough $1,000.00
Davidson Elementary Denise DiTondo $653.80
Davie County High Kristine Drum $864.35
East Alexander Middle Angela Hines $1,000.00
East Davidson High Paul J Satenstein $1,160.00
East Iredell Middle Savannah Jackson $1,966.17
Fair Grove Elementary Bleasha S Carroll $750.00
Francis Bradley Middle Elizabeth Smiley $1,000.00
Kannapolis Middle Dana Hardeman $750.00
Lakeshore Elementary Kelly Gray $1,021.25
Ledford High School Janna Stowe $1,900.00
Lexington Middle School Joann Thomas $1,283.92
Midway Elementary Amanda Johanson $1,212.49
North Davidson Middle Kristina Allred $515.00
North Davidson Middle Kacie Wilson $500.00
North Davidson Middle Amanda Coppley $1,500.00
North Iredell High Pamela Johnson $499.38
Reagan High Shannon Pylant $800.00
Stoner-Thomas School Sara Nussman $1,999.00
Taylorsville Elementary Melinda Glenn $850.00
The Brawley School Meridith Goldstein $353.85
The Brawley School Alicia Driver $891.77
The North Carolina Leadership Academy Kelly M Hartzell $1,260.00
The North Carolina Leadership Academy Kelly Kerr $338.75
The North Carolina Leadership Academy Doug Hathaway $1,700.00
Tyro Elementary School Haley Quick $700.00
Union Grove Elementary Heather Chenevey $410.00
Union Grove Elementary Jennifer York $462.00
Valley Academy (Yadkin Valley Regional Career Academy) Risa Jarman $1,242.00
Vienna Elementary Emily Ruebel $350.00
Walkertown Elementary Brittney Bray $400.00
Walnut Cove Elementary Genna Holt $1,000.00
West Alexander Middle Melanie Sigmon $330.00
West Alexander Middle Amanda Reid $800.00
West Charlotte High Tamara Glover $2,000.00
West Iredell High Rachael Moyer $2,000.00
West Iredell High Ryne Cooper $730.99
Whitaker Elementary Austin Beasley $1,289.95
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Virtual Academy Elaine Phelps $1,000.00
Wittenburg Elementary Sonya Teague $620.00
Total $44,943.59
back to top button